Zenit Royal - Luxembourg (G.D. Luxembourg)

Description 

Construction of a mixed occupancy building: offices and 6 dwellings.
Total surface area 31,918 m².

The former BGL BNP Paribas building on the boulevard Royal is in the process of giving way to the Zenit Royal project. Designed by the Jim Clemes architecture and design studio, this building will be mixed occupancy, with offices as well as apartments. This prestigious building, ideally situated in the heart of the city, will house the future European headquarters of the Bank of China and the downtown branch of the Banque Générale de Luxembourg.

The Société Immobilière de Monterey organised a competition in 2014 for the design of the new Zenit Royal building, located at the corner of the boulevard Royal, avenue Monterey, and rue Notre-Dame. The Jim Clemes architecture and design studio opted for a sober and calm façade, interrupted at regular intervals by vertical windows, using both architectonic concrete and natural stone. Inside, the architect has placed two atria to bring natural light into the very heart of the building.

The client’s programme requested that the building be flexible in its interior layout (gross surface area: 16,930 m²). This is how, above the underground car park (149 places), there will be not only office spaces, but also six penthouses located on the top floor, which will benefit both from a roof terrace and an expansive view above the city’s skyline. The new building must also be connected to the Tour Schoetter, again designed by the Jim Clemes studio, which will remain in place as it is today. All floors of the tower will remain accessible, and it will also keep its underground auditorium.

The new building is conceived as a superposition of horizontal layers. The first three floors will be offset by one metre relative to the ground floor, whereas the fourth and fifth floors will again be in line with the ground floor. The sixth and final floor is back from the street, enabling both greater intimacy and access to the outside terraced areas. It should be completed by the end of 2018.
 

In Autumn 2016, the Willemen Groep started trading in Luxembourg, with the ambition of positioning itself permanently as a reference partner on the Luxembourg construction market.

Since 1998 Franki has been part of Willemen Groep, the largest family construction group in Belgium.

 
location 

Project Details

Executed works 
Construction en entreprise générale d'un immeuble mixte Boulevard Royal à Luxembourg
Features 
Façade en pierre naturelle
Special features 
BREEAM very good
Boulevard Royal, 53, Luxembourg, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Client 
Société Immobilière Monterey
Price 
€48.000.000
Architects 
Design Jim Clemes
Temporary partnership 
Franki, Willemen Construction
Engineering Office 
InCA, Jean Schmit Engineering
Surface area above ground 
30 000m²
Construction period
1 year 10 months
Start work
09-2017
End of work
07-2019

Zenit Royal - Luxembourg (G.D. Luxembourg)

Description 

Construction d’un immeuble mixte: bureaux et 6 logements.
Surface totale 31.918 m².

L’ancien bâtiment de BGL BNP Paribas du Boulevard Royal est en train de laisser place au projet Zenit Royal. Conçu par l’atelier d’architecture et de design Jim Clemes, cet immeuble sera mixte, avec des bureaux, mais aussi des appartements. Ce prestigieux immeuble, idéalement situé au cœur de la ville, abritera le futur siège européen de la « Bank of China » ainsi que l’agence du centre-ville de la Banque Générale de Luxembourg.

La Société Immobilière de Monterey avait organisé en 2014 un concours pour la conception du nouvel immeuble Zenit Royal situé à l’angle du boulevard Royal, de l’avenue Monterey et de la rue Notre-Dame. L’atelier d’architecture et de design Jim Clemes a opté pour une façade sobre et calme, rythmée régulièrement par des fenêtres verticales, mettant en œuvre à la fois le béton architectonique et la pierre naturelle. À l’intérieur, l’architecte a placé deux atriums pour apporter la lumière naturelle jusqu’au cœur du bâtiment.

Le maître d’ouvrage avait demandé dans son programme que le bâtiment puisse être flexible dans son aménagement intérieur (surface brute: 16.930m²). C’est ainsi que, au-dessus du parking souterrain (149 places), prendront place à la fois des espaces de bureaux, mais aussi six penthouses situés au dernier étage et qui bénéficieront à la fois d’une terrasse et d’une vue élargie au-dessus des toits de la ville. Le nouveau bâtiment doit aussi se raccorder à la Tour Schoetter, également conçue par le bureau de Jim Clemes, qui elle restera en place telle qu’actuellement. La tour restera accessible à tous les étages, et conserve également son auditorium en sous-sol.

Le nouveau bâtiment est pensé comme une superposition de couches horizontales. Les trois premiers étages seront en avancée d’un mètre par rapport à l’étage du rez-de-chaussée, alors que les quatrième et cinquième étages retrouvent l’alignement avec l’étage du rez-de-chaussée. Le sixième et dernier étage est quant à lui en retrait de la rue, permettant à la fois une plus grande intimité et offrant des espaces extérieurs de terrasses. La livraison est prévue pour la fin de l’année 2018.

A l’automne 2016, le Willemen Groep démarre son activité à Luxembourg avec l’ambition de s’installer durablement comme un partenaire de référence dans le marché de la construction luxembourgeoise.

Depuis 1998, Franki fait partie de Willemen Groep, l’un des principaux acteurs dans le secteur de la construction. Parmi les partenaires les plus importants de ce groupe figurent Willemen General Contractor, Cosimco, Franki Construct, Aswebo et Aannemingen Van Wellen.

 
emplacement 

Détails du projet

Boulevard Royal, 53, Luxembourg, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Maître(s) d'ouvrage 
Société immobilière Monterey
Architecte 
Design Jim Clemes
Sociéte momentanée 
Franki, Willemen Construction
Bureau d'études 
InCA, Jean Schmit engineering
Début des travaux
05-2017