CSR

CORPORATE SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY

As one of the largest family construction groups in Belgium, we consider it our duty to contribute to a sustainable and qualitative society and world. And our employees also find it important to stand behind this commitment. We have all made joint efforts in recent years to improve the impact of our activities on the environment. For example, we are committed to the United Nations’s Sustainable Development Goals. Willemen Groep was one of the first Belgian companies to sign the SDG charter. In 2020, the United Nations rewarded our efforts with the UNITAR certificate. A recognition of which we are particularly proud.

As mentioned above, we are already taking many specific measures to implement the 17 sustainable development objectives. These have been positively assessed so far by the evaluation committee, which rewarded us with the Voka Sustainable Business Charter (VCDO) for the third year in a row in 2020. It even earned us recognition at the highest level with the UNITAR certificate. In addition, we are pioneering circular construction together with several other players from the construction sector. Together with the other partners in the Circular Construction Green Deal, we are committed to building up and exchanging experience around this form of recycling economy in the coming years.


 


People

Our group currently has more than 2,400 employees belonging to over 30 different nationalities. Approximately one third of our workforce is over the age of 50. Only one principle counts in our recruitment policy: the best candidate gets the job. We never distinguish between gender, ethnic origin, religion, age, or sexual orientation.

In addition, some of our companies have been recognised as a hiring company because they offer opportunities for long-term employment to the long-term unemployed. In addition, several of our employees work under the IBO (Individual Vocational Training for Jobseekers) or GIBO (Specialised IBO for people with disabilities) status. These employees can count on internal guidance and additional training opportunities.

“I did not have a degree, but Willemen Groep was willing to look beyond a piece of paper. This has allowed me to evolve into an IT developer.”
Lars, employee with IBO status

In addition to Belgium, we are also active abroad. We recruit local workers for our foreign projects. We often provide additional training for these people so that they can grow in their profession and further develop their skills. Moreover, they can count on excellent terms of employment.

Our group has a total of around 350 employees under the age of 36. For them, there is the Willemen Intercompany Network for a Great Start (WINGS). WINGS brings them into contact with each other at regular intervals during fun and instructive activities. It makes it easier for our young – and therefore less experienced – employees to find each other if they need some advice or help. In other words, WINGS helps our young employees fly.

Health

Accidents happen quickly, especially in our sector. That is why we regularly roll out awareness-raising campaigns with a focus on safety and safe working practices. It is our ambition to reduce the number of lost-time accidents to zero because every accident is one too many. In order to achieve that goal, the ‘GO FOR ZERO’, our own safety campaign in which we take numerous actions, was set up in 2012.

Willemen Groep - Go For Zero

We also invest heavily in refresher courses and organise annual training days for our construction workers and road workers with safety as a central theme. Each site also holds at least one toolbox meeting per month, during which the real dangers on the site are discussed.

Opleidingsdag 2016 in De Schorre, Boom

"Every accident can be avoided and everyone has a role to play: from construction worker to site manager or project manager and the management."
Peter, Head of the Internal Safety and Prevention Service

But this sense of responsibility for our employees does not stop when they leave the office or close the site gates behind them. Half of all fatal accidents at work in our country happen on the road, which is why we have been rolling out our own Safe Forward road safety campaign every year since 2016. We focus on specific themes, such as distraction behind the wheel, speeding, or stress and aggression. Our employees signed an accompanying charter that was given a prominent place at the head office. In addition, we are also supporting ‘Safety My Priority’, an awareness-raising campaign by the Belgian Construction Confederation to reduce the number of occupational accidents in the sector. 

In addition to avoiding accidents, we put a great deal of effort into the health of our employees. New employees receive a reusable water bottle as a gift on their first day at work. It is also forbidden to smoke on all our company sites. But we also want to make a difference outside the company walls. That’s why we support Join for Water. Thanks to this NGO, tens of thousands of people gain access to sustainable solutions for drinking water, sanitation, and hygiene, or water for agriculture every year. We provided very concrete support for this project in Ituri (East Congo) through Entrepreneurs for Entrepreneurs.

“By bringing potable water to African villages, we are concretely improving the prosperity of many people.”
Filip, Director of Administration

Education

A company can only grow if its employees grow along with it. That’s why we give our people every opportunity to develop themselves. In 2012, we founded the Willemen Academy, our own training institute in which we offer, among other things, two-year (Advanced) Masterclass courses. The Willemen Academy bundles all of our internal training courses. 

But we also support external initiatives with a focus on training. For example, we take part in the YOUCA Action Day every year. On this day, about 15,000 secondary school pupils between the ages of 15 and 18 go to work at businesses.  Their full daily pay goes to projects that give young people abroad a chance at an education. We also fully support the YouthStart organisation. This non-profit organisation stimulates the entrepreneurial spirit among young people between the ages of 16 and 30 and gives them opportunities to realise their ambitions. 

So we like to put young talent in the spotlight. Every two years since 2015, together with Mechelen Arts Centre nOna, we present the Cedric Willemen Award to a promising filmmaker. The winner receives an amount of 2,500 euros and further support from nOna. This is our way of encouraging video artists to develop their art further. In addition, the award should keep the memory of Cedric – himself a passionate student at the LUCA School of Arts – alive. Cedric passed away in 2015, at just 21 years young.

“Giving young talent opportunities and helping them grow is a core value of Willemen Groep’s corporate culture.”
Bram, Communication Maker


Environment

Our current economy is a disposable economy, and unfortunately, the construction industry is just the same. At best, the materials used in the construction of a building or infrastructure are currently recycled to be reused in the production of new materials. Willemen Groep wants to do better, which is why we are helping to find solutions for reusing products and materials rather than recycling them after demolition. Our group is currently taking the first steps in building up the necessary knowledge for successful circular construction. After all, circular construction is the superlative of sustainable building.

In addition, we take numerous actions focusing on sustainability and the environment. For example, we are actively looking for solutions to provide our sites with electricity in the most environmentally friendly way possible. Wherever possible, we opt for a connection to the public electricity grid and we increasingly use hybrid battery packs that can store excess energy in a battery. The generator only starts up if there is a high energy demand. So, not only do we use energy more efficiently, we also generate fewer CO2 emissions than continuously running diesel generators. In addition, the surrounding neighbourhood experiences less noise pollution.

Many of the environmental actions that we have undertaken are part of the environmental management system ISO14001. By the way, we were one of the first construction companies in Belgium to obtain that certificate. In addition, more and more of the buildings we deliver carry a BREEAM or Leed sustainability label. Plus, we have also gained in-depth expertise in passive construction.

Our infrastructure branch has five asphalt production plants that have all been converted to gas in recent years. Our installations meet the most stringent requirements in terms of noise and odour nuisance, and emissions into the soil and the air. In 2015, Willemen Infra was the first and only asphalt producer in Belgium to have an approved validation dossier for Asphalt Reduced Temperature (AVT). AVT is produced and placed at a lower temperature, releasing less CO2 and harmful substances. So, the asphalt is also better for the health and comfort of our road workers.

Since 2019, we are actively participating in a University of Antwerp and OCW (department BAC) research project on REjuveBIT. This VLAIO / Tetrafonds project studies, among other things, the quality and ecological profile of this asphalt enriched with rejuvenating agents. In any case, the asphalt has a smaller ecological footprint than the standard variant. We were also the first in Belgium to be awarded the BENOR TRA 50 certification for road concrete.

The most well-known product of our efforts in sustainability and innovation just might be Drainphalt®: an innovative permeable pavement we developed for the construction of car parks, slip roads, and roads around buildings. The asphalt buffers the rainwater, so that it gradually seeps through to the groundwater. It makes Drainphalt® the ideal solution for the constantly decreasing groundwater level. In addition, the Drainphalt® asphalt mixture is produced at a lower temperature, so that less energy is consumed and less CO2 is released.

DRAINPHALT

Since 2016, many of our companies have been certified under the CO2 performance ladder. This management system stimulates companies to reduce their CO2 emissions within their business operations, but also in projects and in the supply chain. As a pilot in our group, Franki Construct achieves level 4 on this ladder. All other companies will join from 2020. The focus at our company sites, construction sites, and in our power plants is on green electricity.

In addition to sector-specific initiatives, we like to join existing campaigns such as the Car Free Day, in which we participate enthusiastically every year. But we also encourage our employees to commute to and from work as much as possible in a sustainable way throughout the year. For example, even our employees with a company car receive a mileage allowance if they leave the car at home and opt for the bicycle. Our employees can use company bicycles free of charge for short trips. Our fleet is becoming increasingly greener by the year with CNG, 100% electric, and hybrid cars. 

Beehives at our head office not only provide delicious honey, they also contribute to the ecosystem and biodiversity.


Partners

Of course, you can’t improve the world on your own. We would like to introduce our partners, who help facilitate our CSR policy and thus build a better world together with us. 

Ondernemers voor ondernemers | Voka - Vlaams netwerk van ondernemingen | YOUCA - Youth for Change and Action
Join For Water | BREEAM | LEED | YouthStart | Car Free Day

  • Respect - MVO - Logo Ondernemers voor ondernemers
     
    Respect - MVO - Logo Ondernemers voor ondernemers
  • Respect - MVO - Logo VOKA
     
    Respect - MVO - Logo VOKA
  • Respect - MVO - Logo VCDO
     
    Respect - MVO - Logo VCDO
  • Respect - MVO - Logo Youca
     
    Respect - MVO - Logo Youca

RSE

entreprise socialement responsable et durable

En tant que l’un des plus grands groupes familiaux dans le secteur de la construction en Belgique, nous estimons qu’il est de notre devoir de contribuer à façonner une société et un monde durables et de qualité. Et nos collaborateurs estiment également qu'il est important de partager cet engagement. Ces dernières années, nous nous sommes efforcés ensemble de réduire l’impact de nos activités sur l’environnement. Nous avons notamment adopté les objectifs de développement durable (Sustainable Development Goals) des Nations Unies. Et Willemen Groep a été l’une des premières entreprises belges à signer la Charte SDG. En 2020, les Nations Unies ont récompensé nos efforts en nous décernant le certificat UNITAR. Une reconnaissance dont nous sommes particulièrement fiers.

Comme vous pouvez le lire plus loin, nous prenons déjà de nombreuses mesures concrètes pour mettre en œuvre les 17 objectifs de développement durable. À ce jour, la commission d'évaluation a évalué nos efforts de manière positive et nous a décerné en 2020, pour le troisième année consécutive, la Voka Charter Duurzaam Ondernemen (VCDO). Elle nous a même valu une reconnaissance au plus haut niveau avec le certificat de l'UNITAR. De plus, nous sommes pionniers dans la construction circulaire, tout comme un certain nombre d’autres acteurs du secteur de la construction. Avec les autres partenaires de Green Deal Circular Building, nous nous engageons à accumuler de l’expérience et à échanger des informations sur cette forme d’économie circulaire au cours des prochaines années. 

capital humain

Notre groupe compte aujourd'hui 2.400 collaborateurs originaires de plus de 30 pays différents. Environ un tiers de notre personnel est âgé de plus de 50 ans. Un seul principe régit notre politique de recrutement : le meilleur candidat est embauché. Nous ne tenons absolument pas compte dans cette optique du sexe, de la race, de l’origine ethnique, de la religion, de l’âge ou de l’orientation sexuelle du candidat.

Qui plus est, certaines de nos entreprises sont reconnues comme entreprises d'insertion, car elles offrent à des chômeurs de longue durée l'opportunité d'un emploi à long terme. En outre, certains de nos salariés travaillent sous le régime IBO (Individuele Beroepsopleiding voor Werkzoekenden) ou GIBO (IBO spécifique aux personnes handicapées), deux systèmes de formation professionnelle en vigueur en Flandre. Ces salariés bénéficient d'un accompagnement interne et d'autres formations.

« Je ne possédais pas de diplôme, mais Willemen Groep a vu plus loin que ce bout de papier. Cela m’a permis de progresser et de devenir développeur IT. »
Lars, collaborateur sous statut IBO

Nous sommes actifs en Belgique, mais également à l'étranger. Nous engageons des ouvriers locaux pour nos projets à l'étranger. Nous les formons afin qu’ils puissent progresser dans leur métier et affiner leurs compétences. Ils peuvent en outre compter sur d'excellentes conditions de travail.

Notre groupe compte plus de 350 collaborateurs de moins de 36 ans. Et nous avons mis en place pour eux le réseau « Willemen Intercompany Network for a Great Start » (WINGS). Wings leur permet de se réunir régulièrement dans le cadre d'activités amusantes et instructives. Avec ce réseau, les collaborateurs encore jeunes et donc moins expérimentés peuvent se trouver plus facilement quand ils ont besoin de conseils ou d’assistance. Autrement dit : Wings donne des ailes à nos jeunes.

Santé

Un accident est vite arrivé, en particulier dans notre secteur d'activités. C'est pour cette raison que nous déployons régulièrement des campagnes de sensibilisation mettant l'accent sur la sécurité en général et au travail. Notre ambition est de ramener à zéro le nombre d'accidents du travail entrainant une incapacité de travail. Parce que chaque accident est un accident de trop. Pour y parvenir, nous organisons depuis 2012 « GO FOR ZERO », notre propre campagne de sécurité, dans le cadre de laquelle nous entreprenons de nombreuses actions.

Willemen Groep - Go For Zero

Nous investissons également beaucoup dans la formation continue et organisons pour nos ouvriers de chantier et ouvriers de voirie des journées de formation annuelles dont la sécurité constitue le thème central. Chaque chantier organise en outre au moins une réunion toolbox mensuelle. Pendant ces réunions, nous nous attardons sur les risques réels sur le chantier.

Opleidingsdag 2016 in De Schorre, Boom

« Tous les accidents peuvent être évités et chacun a son rôle à jouer : de l'ouvrier au directeur en passant par le chef de chantier ou de projet. »
Peter, Responsable du Service de prévention interne

Mais notre sens des responsabilités envers nos collaborateurs ne s'arrête évidemment pas quand ils quittent le bureau ou referment la clôture de chantier derrière eux. La moitié des accidents de travail mortels dans notre pays surviennent en effet sur la route. C'est pour cela que nous organisons chaque année notre propre campagne de sécurité routière « Safe Forward » depuis 2016. Nous nous concentrons pour cela sur des thèmes spécifiques, comme la distraction au volant, la vitesse ou le stress et l'agressivité. Nos collaborateurs signent une charte mise bien en évidence au siège. Nous soutenons en outre « Safety My Priority », la campagne de sensibilisation lancée par la Confédération de la Construction pour réduire le nombre d'accidents du travail dans le secteur.  

Outre la prévention des accidents, nous investissons également beaucoup dans la santé de nos collaborateurs. Les nouveaux collaborateurs reçoivent, le premier jour de leur contrat, une bouteille d'eau réutilisable en cadeau. Il est en outre interdit de fumer sur tous nos sites. Mais nous voulons aussi faire une différence en dehors des murs de l'entreprise. C'est pour cette raison que nous soutenons « Join For Water ». Cette ONG permet chaque année à des dizaines de milliers de personnes d'accéder à des solutions durables pour l'eau potable, les sanitaires et l'hygiène ou à l'eau pour l'agriculture. Via Entrepreneurs pour entrepreneurs, nous soutenons très concrètement ce projet à Ituri (est du Congo). 

« En amenant l’eau potable dans des villages africains, nous contribuons de façon concrète au bien-être de nombreuses personnes. »
Filip, Directeur administratif

Enseignement

Une entreprise ne peut croître que si ses collaborateurs grandissent en même temps. C'est pour cela que nous offrons à nos salariés toutes les opportunités pour s'épanouir. En 2012, nous avons créé la Willemen Academy, notre propre institut de formation dans lequel nous proposons notamment des trajets Masterclass (Advanced) de deux ans. Toutes nos formations sont regroupées au sein de la Willemen Academy.

Mais nous soutenons également des initiatives externes mettant l'accent sur la formation. Par exemple, nous participons chaque année au YOUCA Action Day. Pendant cette journée, 15.000 élèves âgés de 15 à 18 ans ont l'occasion de travailler en entreprise. Leur salaire du jour est intégralement reversé à des projets offrant des opportunités de formation à des jeunes à l’étranger. YouthStart est également une organisation que nous soutenons pleinement. Cette organisation à but non lucratif stimule l’esprit d’entreprise chez les jeunes de 16 à 30 ans à la recherche d’opportunités et leur donne la possibilité de réaliser leurs ambitions. 

Nous aimons donc mettre les jeunes talents en évidence. Depuis 2015, nous décernons tous les deux ans avec le nOna, le centre d'expression artistique malinois, le Cedric Willemen Award à un cinéaste prometteur. Le lauréat reçoit un montant de 2.500 euros et bénéficie du soutien du nOna. Par cette initiative, nous souhaitons encourager les jeunes cinéastes. Ce prix doit également entretenir le souvenir de Cedric, lui-même étudiant passionné à la LUCA School of Arts. Cedric est décédé en 2015. Il avait à peine 21 ans.

« Offrir une chance à un jeune talent et l'aider à progresser est une valeur clé de la culture d'entreprise de Willemen Groep. »
Bram, Communication Maker


Environnement

Notre économie est une économie de gaspillage. Et ce constat vaut malheureusement aussi pour la construction. Aujourd’hui, les matériaux utilisés pour la construction d’un bâtiment ou d’une infrastructure sont, au mieux, recyclés pour être réutilisés dans la production de nouveaux matériaux. Willemen Groep veut faire mieux, et s'implique dès lors dans la recherche de solutions visant à réutiliser produits et matériaux plutôt que de les recycler après démolition. Notre groupe s’est déjà lancé dans l’acquisition des connaissances nécessaires pour réussir dans la construction circulaire. La construction circulaire est en effet une version de la construction durable poussée à son paroxysme.

Nous lançons en outre de nombreuses actions sur les thèmes du développement durable et de l'environnement. Nous recherchons activement des solutions pour alimenter nos chantiers en électricité de la façon la plus écologique. Lorsque c'est possible, nous optons pour une connexion au secteur et utilisons de plus en plus souvent des batteries hybrides capables de stocker l'énergie excédentaire dans une batterie. Le groupe électrogène ne démarre qu’en cas de demande de courant importante. Nous utilisons donc l'énergie de façon plus efficace, mais nous produisons également moins de CO2 qu'avec un groupe électrogène diesel qui tourne en permanence. Cette solution nous permet en outre de réduire les nuisances acoustiques aux alentours.

Bon nombre des actions entreprises par notre groupe pour l’environnement s’inscrivent dans le cadre du système de gestion environnementale ISO14001. Nous avons d'ailleurs été une des toutes premières entreprises de construction belges à décrocher ce certificat. En outre, un nombre croissant des bâtiments que nous livrons portent le label de développement durable BREEAM ou Leed. Et nous possédons désormais une expertise poussée dans le domaine des bâtiments passifs.

Notre branche infra dispose de cinq unités de production d’asphalte qui ont toutes été converties au gaz au cours des années écoulées. Ces installations respectent les normes les plus strictes en matière de bruit, de nuisances olfactives et d'émissions dans le sol et l’atmosphère. En 2015, Willemen Infra a été le premier et le seul producteur d'asphalte en Belgique à être autorisé à produire des enrobés à basse température (EBT). Les EBT sont produits et posés à une température plus basse afin de produire moins de CO2 et de substances nuisibles. L'asphalte est donc moins nuisible à la santé et au confort de nos ouvriers de voirie.

Depuis 2019, nous participons activement à un projet de recherche de l'Université d'Anvers et d'OCW (division BAC) sur le thème de REjuveBIT. Ce projet VLAIO / Tetrafonds étudie notamment la qualité et le profil écologique de cet asphalte enrichi de régénérants. Cet asphalte présente une empreinte écologique moindre que la variante standard. Nous sommes la première entreprise belge à avoir obtenu le certificat BENOR TRA 50 pour le béton routier.

Le résultat le plus connu de nos efforts en matière de développement durable et d'innovation est sans conteste Drainphalt®, un revêtement perméable à l’eau mis au point par nous et destiné à l’aménagement de parkings, d’allées et de voiries autour de bâtiments. L’asphalte stocke l’eau de pluie, qui peut ensuite s'infiltrer progressivement jusqu’à la nappe phréatique. Drainphalt® constitue donc la solution idéale pour pallier la baisse continue du niveau des nappes phréatiques. De plus, le mélange d’asphalte Drainphalt® est produit à une température inférieure, ce qui permet de limiter la consommation d’énergie et les émissions de CO2.

DRAINPHALT

Depuis 2016, une grande partie de nos entreprises sont certifiées selon l'échelle de performances CO2. Ce système de gestion incite les entreprises à réduire leurs émissions de CO2 dans le cadre de leur gestion, mais aussi dans leurs projets et dans leur chaîne d'approvisionnement.  Entreprise pilote pour le groupe, Franki Construct atteint le niveau 4 sur cette échelle. Toutes les autres entreprises du groupe rallieront ce projet à partir de 2020. L'accent sera mis sur l'électricité verte. Sur nos sites, sur nos chantiers et dans nos centrales.

Outre les initiatives spécifiques au secteur, nous nous associons également volontiers à des actions existantes comme le Car Free Day, une initiative à laquelle nous participons chaque année avec enthousiasme. Nous encourageons également toute l'année nos collaborateurs à choisir autant que possible un moyen de transport durable pour se rendre au travail. Ainsi, ceux qui possèdent une voiture de société perçoivent également une rémunération kilométrique s'ils la laissent au garage et la troquent contre un vélo. Pour les trajets courts, nos collaborateurs peuvent utiliser gratuitement des vélos d’entreprise. Quant à notre parc de véhicules, il devient de plus en plus vert, avec des voitures au CNG, 100% électriques et hybrides.

Les ruches installées à notre siège produisent un miel délicieux, mais contribuent également à renforcer notre écosystème et la biodiversité. 


Partenaires

Améliorer le monde n'est évidemment pas possible tout seul. Voici les partenaires qui nous aident dans notre politique d'entreprise socialement responsable et contribuent dès lors à construire un monde meilleur avec nous. 

Entrepreneurs pour entrepreneurs | Voka - Vlaams netwerk van ondernemingen | YOUCA - Youth for Change and Action
Join For Water | BREEAM | LEED | YouthStart | Car Free Day

  • Respect - MVO - Logo Ondernemers voor ondernemers
     
    Respect - MVO - Logo Ondernemers voor ondernemers
  • Respect - MVO - Logo VOKA
     
    Respect - MVO - Logo VOKA
  • Respect - MVO - Logo VCDO
     
    Respect - MVO - Logo VCDO
  • Respect - MVO - Logo Youca
     
    Respect - MVO - Logo Youca