Bridges over E40 & A10 - Merelbeke

Description 

Aswebo and Franki Construct began their work on 20 March to renew two bridges on the E40 in Merelbeke: the bridge over the Tijarm and the bridge over the Oude Gaversesteenweg. New sound barriers are to be installed on both sides of the E40 between the Tijarm and the Hundelgemsesteenweg. A temporary bridge beside the E40 (see time lapse video) will ensure that the traffic on the E40 can continue to flow in both directions during each phase. The work will last until the end of 2018.

Both bridges date back to the 1950s and need replacing. We are also taking the opportunity to widen the bridges.

Space is to be created for two emergency lanes and we already plan to make room for a fourth lane. Therefore, should the motorway be expanded to four lanes in the future, the bridges will already be prepared. The bridge over the Tijarm is also to be made a little longer, allowing a parallel road to fit under the bridge for the commercial zone at Zwijnaarde island.

Sound barriers

Sound barriers are to be placed on both sides of the E40 between the Tijarm and the Hundelgemsesteenweg. Existing barriers on the south side will disappear and be replaced by barriers of four metres high. This is one metre higher than the existing barriers. There are currently no barriers on the north side, but four-metre barriers are also to be installed there. Use will be made of mobile barriers, which will be moved if and when the E40 expands to four lanes.

Four phases

The work is planned in four phases. During the first phase, we built a temporary bridge along the south side of the E40. This bridge will carry traffic heading for Brussels during the second phase. This means that traffic can continue to use three narrow lanes in the following phase. The time lapse video shows the construction of the temporary bridge over seven days at high speed. During phase 2, work will take place on the north side of the E40. Both bridges will be dismantled and two new ones will be built. The zone between the two bridges will be extended.

In phase 3, we will carry out the same work as in phase 2, but on the south side of the E40 this time. At the end of this phase, sound barriers are to be placed along the south side of the E40. The fourth and final phase involves the installation of sound barriers along the north side of the E40, without affecting the traffic on the E40 and the Oude Gaversesteenweg

Willemen Infra - the largest Belgian road construction company - came into being on 1 July 2018 as a result of the merger between Aswebo, Aannemingen Van Wellen and the infrastructure department of Kumpen.

Since 1998 Franki Construct has been part of Willemen Groep, the largest family construction group in Belgium.

 
location 

Project Details

Oude Gaversesteenweg , Merelbeke, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Client 
Agentschap Wegen en Verkeer Oost-Vlaanderen
Temporary partnership 
Aswebo, Franki Construct
Engineering Office 
Arcadis
Span 
13m
Construction period
1 year 5 months
Start work
04-2017
End of work
09-2018

Ponts sur les E40 & A10 – Merelbeke

Description 

Aswebo et Franki Construct ont débuté le 20 mars la rénovation de deux ponts de l’E40 à Merelbeke : le pont enjambant le bras de l’Escaut (Tijarm) et celui qui passe au-dessus de la Oude Gaversesteenweg. De nouveaux écrans acoustiques sont installés entre le bras de l’Escaut (Tijarm) et la Hundelgemsesteenweg de chaque côté de l’E40. Un pont temporaire longeant l’E40 (voir vidéo en accéléré) permet de maintenir le trafic sur l’E40 dans les deux directions à chaque phase. Les travaux durent jusqu’à la fin de l’année 2018.

Les deux ponts datent des années 1950 et doivent être remplacés. Nous mettons en outre l’occasion à profit pour élargir les ponts.

De l’espace est créé pour deux bandes d’arrêt d’urgence et nous prévoyons d’ores et déjà de l’espace pour une quatrième bande de circulation. Les ponts seront ainsi prééquipés dans l’hypothèse où l’autoroute serait élargie à quatre bandes. Le pont sur le bras de l’Escaut (Tijarm) s’allonge en outre, pour permettre également à une voie latérale destinée à la zone économique Eiland Zwijnaarde de passer sous le pont.

Écrans acoustiques

Des écrans acoustiques sont installés de chaque côté de l’E40 entre le bras de l’Escaut (Tijarm) et la Hundelgemsesteenweg. Les écrans existants du côté sud disparaissent et sont remplacés par des écrans de 4 mètres de haut, soit 1 mètre de plus que les écrans actuels. Des écrans de 4 mètres de haut vont également prendre place du côté nord, où il n’y a actuellement aucune protection. Des écrans mobiles sont installés. Ceux-ci seront déplacés si l’E40 passe à 4 bandes dans chaque direction.

4 phases

Nous réalisons les travaux en 4 phases. Durant la phase initiale, nous avons construit un pont temporaire longeant le côté sud de l’E40. Ce pont sert à rediriger le trafic en direction de Bruxelles durant la deuxième phase. Ainsi, le trafic demeure possible sur trois bandes rétrécies durant la phase suivante. La vidéo présente la construction du pont temporaire en 7 jours en accéléré. Nous travaillons durant la phase 2 au côté nord de l’E40. Les deux ponts sont démantelés et deux nouveaux sont construits. La zone séparant les deux ponts est élargie.

Durant la phase 3, nous réalisons les mêmes travaux que durant la phase 2, mais du côté sud de l’E40. Les écrans acoustiques sont installés du côté sud de l’E40 à la fin de cette phase. Les écrans acoustiques font leur apparition du côté nord de l’E40 durant la quatrième et dernière phase, sans qu’aucune gêne ne soit occasionnée au trafic sur l’E40 et la Oude Gaversesteenweg.

Willemen Infra, le plus important constructeur de routes belge, a vu le jour le 1er juillet 2018 de la fusion entre Aswebo, Aannemingen Van Wellen et le département infra de Kumpen.

Depuis 1998, Franki Construct appartient à Willemen Groep, le plus grand groupe familial de construction en Belgique.

 
emplacement 

Détails du projet

Oude Gaversesteenweg , Merelbeke, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgique
Maître(s) d'ouvrage 
Agentschap Wegen en Verkeer Oost-Vlaanderen
Sociéte momentanée 
Aswebo, Franki Construct
Bureau d'études 
Arcadis
Portée 
13m
Délai
1 an 5 mois
Début des travaux
04-2017
Fin des travaux
09-2018